Little Rock, Ark. — Aug. 8, 2011 — Larry and Nancy Ferrell of Hopewell, members of First Electric Cooperative, are the winners of the 2011 Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas $50,000 Energy Efficiency Makeover Contest.

The Ferrells’ 31-year-old home will receive comprehensive pre- and post-diagnostic energy audits, including a blower door test, duct blaster test and infrared thermography. The home will receive numerous energy-saving applications, including sealing the building envelope, Retrofoam insulation in the sidewalls, a foam encapsulated attic, an energy efficient Marathon water heater, an ultraefficient geothermal heating and cooling system, and high-efficiency windows and doors.

The home has very little insulation, inefficient windows, and is heated and cooled by an older mismatched inefficient system.

“In order to manage their utility bills, the Ferrells’ have sacrificed comfort and convenience. During the summer they push their thermostat past the 80-degree range and during the winter they supplement their heat by burning wood in an older wood stove,” said Doug White, vice president of systems services for the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. “The Ferrells’ home is like many throughout America. The heating and cooling system is obsolete, the dwelling is not sealed or insulated properly, the ductwork leaks and the windows are inefficient. Once the makeover is complete, the home will be energy efficient and comfortable year-round.”

“While the contest only allows our makeover team to provide energy efficiency applications to one family, everyone can learn from the components and measures used to make the Ferrells’ home more comfortable and energy efficient,” White said. “By visiting everyone can observe the 2011 makeover process. The previous three makeover winner’s homes are also featured.”

More than 2,000 applications were submitted for the contest. In addition to the grand-prize winner, 16 runners-up will receive free 40-gallon high energy-efficient Marathon water heaters.

Winners of free 40-gallon Marathon water heaters are:

  • Jackie Ray, Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative of Ozark;
  • Sam Taunton, Ashley-Chicot Electric Cooperative of Hamburg;
  • Ernesto Muniz, C & L Electric Cooperative of Star City;
  • Dawn Harris, Carroll Electric Cooperative of Berryville;
  • Ronnie Davis, Clay County Electric Cooperative of Corning;
  • Kimberly Markum, Craighead Electric Cooperative of Jonesboro;
  • Albert Cathey, Farmers Electric Cooperative of Newport;
  • Paul G. Borden, Mississippi County Electric Cooperative of Blytheville;
  • James F. Bonewits, North Arkansas Electric Cooperative of Salem;
  • Doyle Vann, Jr., Ouachita Electric Cooperative of Camden;
  • Matt and Carrie Brandenburg, Ozarks Electric Cooperative of Fayetteville;
  • Leonard Coe, Petit Jean Electric Cooperative of Clinton;
  • Steve Holton, Rich Mountain Electric Cooperative of Mena;
  • Doris Dunlap, South Central Arkansas Electric Cooperative of Arkadelphia;
  • Edward L. Caldwell, Southwest Arkansas Electric Cooperative of Texarkana; and
  • Jerry Green, Woodruff Electric Cooperative of Forrest City.

The project’s major sponsors include: Doug Rye; WeatherBarr Windows of Fort Smith; Marathon Water Heaters; Rood Heating and Air of Russellville; and WaterFurnace Geothermal.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides various services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to approximately 500,000 members, or customers, in Arkansas and surrounding states.

For additional information, contact:
Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or