Little Rock, Ark. — July 10, 2013 — Beverly Froud began her professional career as a family support specialist at the White County Department of Human Services, but transitioned into the education field after only four months. After approximately seven years in as an educator, she has been named as the 2013 Arkansas Rural Teacher of the Year.

Froud, a family and consumer life teacher at White County Central High School, was presented the award by the Arkansas Rural Education Association and the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, who sponsor the annual award.

A resident of Judsonia, she has a Bachelor of Science degree in family and consumer sciences from Harding University and a Master of Science degree in family and consumer sciences from the University of Central Arkansas. Froud completed the Arkansas non-traditional licensure program in 2006.

“Teachers must be constantly attuned to their students if they are to act on cues of misunderstanding, confusion and emotional turmoil that can interfere with learning,” she said. “We must take into account the human component of teaching and its influence on our work and our students.”

According to Froud, teaching in a rural community provides her with an opportunity to relate to students in a way that would most likely not be afforded in an urban area. “As rural educators, we have the ability to help students value where they come from, where they are and where they can go, all at the same time.”

She encourages community involvement by leading students in community service efforts. “It is important to find ways to engage students in meaningful, selfless work to allow them the opportunity to make a difference in our community and the world at large,” she said.

As the Arkansas Rural Teacher of the Year, she plans to encourage other teachers to be the catalyst for creating communities of professionals by starting informal conversations in their individual school settings that form the basis of healthy, viable collegial exchanges and result in improvements in instruction, classroom management, parent communication and student learning.

“We treasure your children,” she said, regarding a message to the public. “We realize what a precious gift we have been entrusted with. We want your children to be successful. Your children can become anything they wish with an Arkansas education, and I am exceedingly grateful to be a part of it.”

The Rural Teacher of the Year Award winner is selected based on the quality and depth of answers to questions in the following categories: professional biography, educational history, professional development, community involvement, teaching philosophy, education issues and the teaching profession.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides various services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The cooperatives provide electricity to more than 500,000 members, or customers, in Arkansas and surrounding states.

For additional information, contact:
Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or