Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas award six Pioneer Awards

Little Rock, Ark. — Dec. 15, 2014 — The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas recently honored six locally elected distribution electric cooperative directors with awards to recognize a combined total of more than 210 years of leadership and service to their respective cooperatives.

“Cooperatives are owned by their members and governed by democratically elected boards of directors,” said Duane Highley, president/CEO of the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. “The experience and leadership that these directors and others across the state provide are to be commended. Integrity, honesty, fairness and cooperation are hallmarks of the cooperative way of doing business and electric cooperative directors are known for these traits. They are clearly focused on the interests of their respective cooperatives.”

The 2014 honorees were: Jerry Pahal, Ashley-Chicot Electric of Hamburg; R.S. “Bob” McBryde, C & L Electric of Star City; John Dalton, Clay County Electric of Corning; Mark Robbins, Rich Mountain Electric of Mena; Terry A. Allgood, South Central Arkansas Electric of Arkadelphia; and J.N. Bickerstaff, Woodruff Electric of Forrest City.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas Pioneer Awards program was established in 2002 to recognize the dedication and efforts of directors of Arkansas 17 electric cooperatives. To receive this special recognition, a director must have a minimum of 35 years of service on their local distribution cooperative board. The Pioneer Wall of Fame awards are presented each year at the Directors’ Winter Conference. Since the program was established, 66 directors have been recognized. Honorees are presented an award plaque and have their names listed on a special Wall of Fame at the AECC/AECI headquarters in Little Rock.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to approximately 500,000 homes, farms and businesses in Arkansas and surrounding states.

For additional information, contact:
Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or rroedel@aeci.com