Little Rock, Ark. — Aug. 10, 2015 — The all-electric homes of 17 electric cooperative members will soon become much more energy efficient after being transformed as part of the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas Eighth Annual Energy Efficiency Makeover Contest. The 17 winning members will each receive up to $3,000 in energy efficiency improvements to their homes.

“Thousands of electric cooperative members from across the state submitted applications and the 17 winners were then objectively selected by a statewide team of cooperative representatives,” said Bret Curry, manager of residential energy marketing for the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. “The common theme among the 17 homes is higher than average electrical consumption per square foot of living space and complaints about having to sacrifice comfort in order to keep their electric bills affordable.”

Curry said the energy efficiency makeover project is an educational program that teaches and demonstrates basic building science. Members’ homes are used as a resource so others can learn how they can implement energy savings and comfort improvement ideas within their homes.

Each winner will receive a comprehensive energy audit that includes a blower door air infiltration test, a ductwork leakage test and infrared thermal imaging scan. Upon diagnosis of the energy problems, a team of experts will properly install additional attic insulation and seal and insulate whole-house attic fans and attic access points. Additionally the homes will receive caulk where needed and unwanted air leaks will be sealed. The makeover team will also reconnect, seal and insulate ductwork and replace inefficient light bulbs with CFL or LEDs.

Prizes winners and their respective, locally owned electric cooperatives are:


  • Russell and Lori Powell of Waldron, Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative members;
  • Michael and Stacy Adams of Hamburg, Ashley-Chicot Electric Cooperative members;
  • Rose Mary Sullivan of Tillar, C&L Electric Cooperative members;
  • Ann Prestage of Bella Vista, Carroll Electric Cooperative member;
  • Earl and Anne Ladyman of Corning, Clay County Electric Cooperative members;
  • Mike and Kandi Morrison of Jonesboro, Craighead Electric Cooperative members;
  • Bill and Patsy Smothermon of Bradford, Farmers Electric Cooperative member;
  • Jeff and Dedra Turner of Bauxite, First Electric Cooperative members;
  • Roger and Laura Riney of Manila, Mississippi County Electric Cooperative members;
  • Louis and Betty Breece of Ash Flat, North Arkansas Electric Cooperative members;
  • Annette Russell of Bearden, Ouachita Electric Cooperative member;
  • Jimmy and Rachel Mobb of Lincoln, Ozarks Electric Cooperative members;
  • B.J. and Ashley Rea of Marshall, Petit Jean Electric Cooperative members;
  • Bill and Connie Hutto of Dierks, Rich Mountain Electric Cooperative members;
  • Janye Bell of Arkadelphia, South Central Arkansas Electric Cooperative member;
  • Mike and Paula Wells of Doddridge, Southwest Arkansas Electric Cooperative members; and
  • Ronald and Sarah Matlock of Forrest City, Woodruff Electric Cooperative members.


Progress of the home makeovers and energy saving tips can be viewed at or

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to approximately 500,000 homes, farms and businesses in Arkansas and surrounding states.

For additional information, contact:
Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or