Little Rock, Ark. — May 10, 2016 — Hillcrest High School took first place in the 2016 Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas Electric Vehicle (EV) Rally that was held on Friday, May 6 at the Arkansas State Fairgrounds. The contest included more than 200 participants representing 15 Arkansas schools.

“The EV Rally has grown each year which reflects the growing interest in electric vehicle technology,” said Rob Roedel, manager of corporate communications for the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. “Our program enables students to obtain hands-on experience in technology that encourages critical thinking skills, teamwork and creativity.”

Paragould High School won second place and Fayetteville High School’s engineering team placed third in the academically focused event. For the full results, please visit: Event images can be found at:

The participating schools are involved in the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas Electric Vehicle program that includes a curriculum that incorporates a variety of disciplines, including math, auto mechanics, physics, engineering, electronics and journalism. Students participated in competitions that tested the students’ abilities and their vehicles’ performance capacities.

The day-long event began with technical and safety inspections of the vehicles. Students then focused on an autocross competition and acceleration event. Next, the helmets are unstrapped as the students test their academic knowledge in troubleshooting and quiz bowl competitions. The day wraps up with a race to determine the distance that the vehicles can run on a single charge.

Participants in this year’s rally included: Arkansas Tech Career Center; Arkansas Career Training Institute; Bryant High School; Cabot High School; Fayetteville High School – Agriculture; Fayetteville High School –Digital Electronics; Hamburg High School; Hampton High School; Hillcrest High School; Hellstern Middle School (Springdale); Mabelvale Jr. High; Paragould High School; Ramay Jr. High (Fayetteville); Viola High School; and Woodland Jr. High (Fayetteville).

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to approximately 500,000 homes, farms and businesses in Arkansas and surrounding states


For additional information, contact:
Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or