Jasper Elementary School Teacher Sandra Allen and Ozark High School Teacher Tracy Lewis have been named the Arkansas Rural Education Association’s Teachers of the Year. The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas have sponsored the Rural Teacher of the Year Award since 2004.

Allen and Lewis were each presented with a crystal apple gift and a check for $1,000 from the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas.

Teacher-of-the-year nominations are vetted by the state’s 15 educational cooperatives, which then submit a finalist for each educational cooperative district to the Arkansas Rural Education Association for consideration.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to approximately 500,000 homes, farms and businesses in Arkansas and surrounding states.

For additional information, contact:

Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas at (501) 570-2296 or email Rob.